Civil/Structural engineering opportunities in canada 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sidou

Civil/Environmental
Jan 5, 2023
DZ
Hello,
I'm moving to Canada this summer and I would like to get a job as a Civil engineer or something similar if possible.
I have a PhD in civil engineering and I work as a university associate professor (5 years of experience), no experience in the engineering industry, only in academia.
I would like to get a job in the engineering industry since the academic job market is extremely competitive in Canada:
- Could you recommend any reference materials, such as textbooks (RC Design, Steel Design, Construction, ...) or Local codes, to familiarize myself with these practices in Canada.
- Are there any significant differences in design practices between USA and Canada (I'm kinda familiar with design practice in USA).
- As a foreign degree holder, are there any short courses or certificates in Canada that you would recommend to boost my chances (certificates that are appreciated/requested by employers)?

Regards,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Sidou,

Welcome to Canada!

After you settle, your first goal should be to register with a provincial engineering governing body. You won't be able to practice as an "Engineer" in Canada unless you are a member of one of the provincial associations. Every province and territory in Canada has its own independent engineers/geoscientist association. I'm not sure where you are planning to settle but I've provided a link to the British Columbia and Ontario's chapters below. A quick search in Google will provide you with links to other provincial chapters.