Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Civil/Structural PE Failure OCT 2015 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbassila

Structural
Oct 29, 2013
US
I studied about 250 hours and still bombed the civil/structural PE (36 OUT OF 80 QUESTIONS). I feel like I didn't have enough time on any of the questions and the difficulty was way above what NCEES conveyed in their practice exams. I had all of the recommended study material tabbed and ready (Lindeburg, co-workers old Testmasters binder, codes, etc.). I took practice exams and studied a lot but the test totally caught me off guard. It was 10 times harder than I expected.

The second time around I will bite the bullet and pay for the Testmasters course but I'm not confident it will get my score up to passing (Allegedly the passing score for OCT 2015 WAS 55/80).

1. Do I have any chance of passing this exam or should I just pursue another career path?

2. Can anyone provide reassurance on the Testamsters course or suggest other classes?

3. I have read that practice exams are useful but I ran out practice exams to do when I studied the first time. Can anyone recommend useful practice exams that will actually help me on the test (I need a lot of them)?

-Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

says the retake pass rate was 31%

How do you feel about almost doubling your test score? FWIW it is probably wiser to know 80% of the subject matter really well rather than try and cover the stuff you just don't understand, if the problem is the sheer breadth required. One issue with open book exams is that you can spend a lot of time cranking through stuff you don't know backwards (or have never seen before) as you teach yourself during the exam. It might gain you some marks but it is a slow way of doing so.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376