Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cleaning Belled Piers 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Qrs

Structural
Sep 30, 2013
US
How are the bells in belled piers cleaned out? I saw a patent for a belling tool that collects and removes the dirt as it drills. Is this typical? Or is the loose dirt removed by hand? (people and buckets?) I'm new to belled piers and want to learn what the typical practice is. [ponder]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Nobody likes to go down there. However, for a belled caisson, I'd never do it. There is a good chance for the sides to cave in on the "inspector". So, we try to examine the bottom from the surface. One excuse I have heard (and have had to accept) is assume that a certain percentage of the bottom is a pile of loose earth that the cleaning tool can't get. My experience is limited to perhaps 10 jobs, so those that have more experience may come up with a good way to approve what is done before concreting. I usually would be the first to go down (inside a casing) to set the procedure for the production inspector. Of course all sorts of safety procedures are needed in case of CO2 and of course passing out. Hand clearing is the best, but there are some contractors that do not do that.

The best person to learn from is Clyde Baker who wrote this manual:

We usually rely on the belled tool that the drillers use. I don't believe that OSHA lets workers into shafts unless they are cased.
The leftover scrap soil at the bottom gets "tamped" by the weight of the wet concrete eventually to some extent.