Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Cleaning High Voltage Lightning Arresters

Status
Not open for further replies.

JasonJ

Electrical
Sep 6, 2006
US
I'm new to eng-tips and was just hoping for a little help on finding a link for cleaning High Voltage Lightning Arresters. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Welcome to the forum, you need to be specific with your questions here, here is a general link to your general question.
You will find standards for maintenance of arrestors there. A more specific question will get you a more specific answer. There are some great minds with alot of experience here.

Scott Peterson
Training Manager
Power Plus Engineering

You need to be specific in your question. Are you looking for cleaning methods, such as using Collinite No. 237 High Voltage insulator cleaner on de-energized and grounded equipment?
Or are you looking for methods of cleaning while the equipment is energized, such as corn cob blasting?

Sorry for the non-specific question wbd and thank you for the response. I'm writing a generic Maintenance Policy Manual for the many power plants my company represents and I need to add some info about cleaning Transformer Lightning Arresters to our Transformer Maintenance section. I am having trouble finding info on any cleaning procedures for de-energized or energized equipment.

okay, basically the best way is to perform the cleaning with the equipment de-energized, LOTO and grounded. You should clean the insulators/bushings/LA's with a high voltage insulator cleaner like Collinite 237, following the instructions on the can. Not much to it.
I would also check the tightness of all connections, including the base bolts and look for signs of overheating. If these are large LA's, they could be Doble testing at the same time the transformer and transformer bushings are. The LA's on the transformers can be cleaned the same way the transformer bushings are.