Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Close loop charging 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

saeedplc

Electrical
Nov 27, 2021
IR
Hi dear experts,

Dears i am very new to mechanic knowledge and my below question maybe seem very simple to answer but are very tough for me to get.🙂

Could you please let me know what pressure amount shold a close secondary loop of a chilled water be filled to? For instance a loop can be charged up to 2 or 3 bar or everything. What determine the right pressure?
Should the loop be precharged with water when the valves of the equipments are open or close or in working condition?

designer of the system has mentioned duty point of the pump as 130m3 1.7bar.
The duty point is when the equipments are in their full flow or their working conditions?

Regards,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need to charge enough for the pump to be able to lift the fluid from the level in the suction to the level of the high point, plus the pipe friction loss. Pump head must be > high point elevation + pipe friction loss - suction level.

A black swan to a turkey is a white swan to the butcher ... and to Boeing.

Mr 44 - For a closed loop system the pump head is only the frictional losses around the loop from outlet to inlet no? level only gives you the actual pressure in the pipe that the pump need sot be capable of withstanding from a pressure containment point of view.

However the other answer is correct. The pressure ( define where in the system you are measuring it) needs to be sufficient to maintain at least say 1 bar at the highest point in the secondary loop. Usually there are expansion tanks required also.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.