Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Code Violations

Status
Not open for further replies.

esce

Mechanical
Aug 20, 2002
My associates and I have been developing a rectangular flange program for the past 2 years and are about ready to market it. The program was developed based on a "loose ring" type flange as shown in the ASME Code, Appendix 2.
The program is intended to be primarily used within the limits of the ASME Section VIII, Division 1 Code. Various flange geometries were analyzed with the program and verified with the use of finite element analysis.
My questions are would I be in violation of the ASME Code in
any way, would I be dealing with any liability issues if we go to market and do I need authorization from the ASME Code?
I am an Engineer, not a marketing guru. Maybe it would be better if we scraped the whole project.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Erie Shore Consulting Engineers, Inc.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Your software could be helpful to many people. It is the responsibility of the Manufactuer for its use. They in turn
must control and verify it to the satisfaction of the AI.

ASME will not"bless" you or your product. Suggest you keep it updated to current Code and Addenda. Put in lots of disclaimers. Perhaps send free copies to several AIAs.

I´m not a marketing gurú neither but I belive you don´t need ASME authorization.
Beside, all commertial softwares tell´s you (with more "legal" words) that they take no responsibility for any problem resulting from the use of such software. So, I believe that undirectly the CODE is also relieved.