Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Columbia tragedy 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cranekiran

Mechanical
Mar 1, 2002
IN
Dear all,

First of all I want to express my sincere condolences to the families of the brave crew of the columbia shuttle.I feel the space exploration should continue despite the setbacks at present simply because the sacrifice of the magnificient seven would go in vain if the project is stopped.
But as Engineers we have to discuss the possibilities & reasons of this disaster so that in future this should not happen again.
I am not a Aeronautical engineer but as a design engineer I feel something quite not right in the positioning of the shuttle w.r.t the booster rockets.
See,From the looks of the shuttle taking off I felt the positioning of the shuttle too low & too close to the booster rocket jets,It was almost as if the flames of the booster rockets were touching the orbiter during the take-off.I may be wrong but Is there a chance that the shuttle was getting over-heated due to this reason? Can the shuttle be shifted to the top of the arrangement without affecting the overall performance?
I have written the same to the CHICAGO TRIBUNE about my opinion,I am doing the same here hoping to get some answers from this community.
I would be glad to read other opinions as well.
bye!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Have you given any consideration at all about the overall stability and why that might require the Shuttle to be closer to the bottom? TTFN

the rocket exhaust does not touch the shuttle. The space shuttle components are arranged in such a way that the solid rocket boosters, external fuel tank, and shuttle main engines balance each other out.