Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Comparison industry vs. academia? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaxeyTom

Aerospace
May 1, 2011
I have a good first MS degree, and quite a lot of experience as an 'applied' engineer, but have often liked the idea of research studies, and perhaps even becoming a researcher. This career dilemma has bothered me quite a lot, particularly as I like the very detailed and analytical end of engineering work, which tends not to be what industrial engineering organisations want (often, they send that stuff to Universities), although, paradoxically, industry has to solve problems on real applications, which often have serious complications requiring in-depth analysis.

However, when I look at actual PhD work, it often looks quite divorced from reality - obviously, it can only use open-source material - but also there often seems little effort made to make the link to industrial considerations, in terms of realistic design possibilities, analysing trade-offs etc. Perhaps this is the nature of engineering research. Theses often seem to be written primarily for personal/academic goals (unsurprising), which would not reflect my primary reasons for getting into it, as much as I would fulfil the requirements.

At the moment, I attempt to 'bridge the gap' by undertaking personal study work, to educate myself beyond what I did at university, in order to define my own career in a way that reflects my interest, however, it still feels a bit like I am in a 'no-mans-land'; wanting to do creative analytical work, but unsure whether to stick it out in industry, or make the big leap into a PhD programme. Does this make sense? Is this something others can recognise?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you