Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Complex surfaces with NX 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

anmorgan

Automotive
Nov 3, 2009
US
Hello, I've been using NX 5 for a couple of years now and the one thing I've been unsure about is how to make complex sheets like the picture attached. Taking those lines (not necessarily those specifically) and making it into a surface with a thickness.

Is there an option to actually create that? or do I have to just be clever with my sweeps.

If there is a way to create a sheet from curves (which there is a tool for that, but I don't understand how to apply it).

If anyone can show a step by step example that would be awesome. Thanks for the help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

OK, I've created an NX 5.0 model based on your picture (5 Sketches forming a mesh of curves). Using these 5 curves I've created 5 surfaces using 3 different Surface creation methods. In two of the methods I used alternative schemes in terms of the order in which I selected the curves thus giving me 5 different surfaces.