Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Composite Modeling 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

JPhysics

Mechanical
Nov 3, 2010
US
I am new to Abaqus and Composites so please bear with me the curve is quite steep and I keep falling down.

A couple of basic questions:
1. The best way to "Model" the composite part. I have a SolidModel from SolidWorks and a Surface Model also from SolidWorks, which one should I use and why?
2. Material Properties: The units, no matter which SolidWorks model I use, it imports as mm. Does this mean that all my material properties have to be in N/mm^2? Resutls are then in MPa?
3. I am interested in the Tsai-Wu failure criteria which the help file says is available, but I cannot figure out how to get my output in this format. Any help here?
4. When creating a layup on a complicated section is there any way to re-orient some of the selected faces while leaving the others alone?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

1. Depends what you're interested in. Surfaces are usually fine and computationally cheap, and easy to mesh.
2. There are no units in ABAQUS. You must only be consistent. That is, your geometry units must match your load units which must match your material properties units. You can use whichever you like. You can also scale geometry when importing to make it appropriate for whichever system you choose. Use the geometry diagnostic and measure distance when importing to be sure it imports at the scale you think it does.
3. I think this is a field output. You must specify all the relevant failure crit before it is selectable, iirc.
4. Yes, each face can be assigned different material orientations based on offset angles and local coordinate systems.

Hi JPhysics,