Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Composite sandwich, material type and laod calculations 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

awparran

Computer
Jan 9, 2005
Let's get some ground information on the table first.
I am NOT an aeronautical engineer. I have built two aircraft successfully and obviously lived to tell about it. Both were built from scratch using plans.

I am a private pilot and have been flying since high school (1966). I am checked out in Pipers, Cessnas, Grummans, a Trojan T-28', Grob 109's, etc.

I am designing and hope to build my own aircraft as a completion to one of my life's dreams. I have used wood, metal and composite materials in my pervious aircraft building projects.

Anyway since I am self-taught in a lot of diciplines, I will understand a concept if I take my brain out and let the information "soak in" through osmosis.

I like working with wood and foam. I am toying with the idea of making my ribs out of balsa sandwiched between, carbon fiber or kevlar. I have searched the Internet and found an article or two relating to model aircraft, but nothing on the scale of a full-size aircraft.

I was also thinking of just using foam with carbon fiber as a sandwich.

Either way, I can't find any material related to setting up the ribs, calculations, and/or examples of each.

I am also interested in spar design using carbon fiber/foam. When I enter "SPAR" in the GOOGLE search engine, I can find everything I didn't need to know about boat design.

So my question is where can I find information that I can "soak up" without getting an advanced aeronautical engineering degree at Purdue University?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Tony

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Tony,