Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Composite Sway-Bar Design and Manufacturing

Status
Not open for further replies.

6543w2qddsf

Automotive
Sep 21, 2006
DK
I am in the process of designing a composite sway bar for automotive applications, the objective is to reduce the weight of the part.

I have been told to look into two manufacturing techniques:
- Filament winding
- Pulltrusion

From what i undestand (i have little experience with composites) they differ in that Filament Winding needs a core for every part manufactured, wile with Pulltrusion you can use a single mold to produce an X number of parts.

Assuming the above is correct the bar manufactured through Filament winding would be Hollow, while the pulltruded one could be solid. Is that corect?

Which manufacturing technique is cheaper? Faster?
Which one will provide the best material propreties?
Will the shape of the composite bar differe from the steel equivalent?

Thank you in advance.
Fegizii

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In general, pultruding is the lower cost manufacturing method because of the high output but this method provides lower performence properties. Additionally, oreintation of fibers is generally limnited to the direction of the pultrsion process. If the design can work with axial stiffness then pultrusion may be a cost effective choice.