Conception to company w/o experience 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

islandeng

Mechanical
Oct 14, 2004
VC
Hello,

I am a recent grad just hopping around performing 'random' small engineering jobs. Basically, that just means I haven't been hired by any large engineering firms, and people that know me personally have been using my education and paying me for what I have learned. This has been working out pretty well, as I have traveled throughout the Caribbean working on boats and islands. It actually has been a great experience thus far.

However, I have and idea for a product/company that would have to penetrate a crowded market. I would really like to develop this idea and make it into a reality. I believe the technology is available, and the current social/political climate is also ready for this product. So I am ready to pack away my sunscreen and work toward my own dream instead of fixing someone else's.

The one thing I know about my product is that I do not have the knowledge, experience, and capital to build a company around it. While I would prefer to have the ability to take all the risk and reap all the reward (optimistically stated), I know it probably isn't feasible.

So my questions:

1) Should I hold off on my idea to gain experience and knowledge even if it means the opportunity may be lost to competition?

2) How does one find qualified people willing to risk their income with no guarantee?

Thank you for your input.

(I have intentionally been vague about the idea/product because I don't think specifics are important here.)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Go to your local Small Business Organization office and ask for a list of classes and times. Most of their classes are free, a few cost $30-$50, and will help you get a feel for what you need to know to start your own business.