Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Concrete Shear Wall Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

bertiskorny

Structural
Oct 5, 2006
US
Hello,

I'm a new structural Engineer. For those of you familiar with ETABS v9, I need help designing a concrete shear wall (general).

1) Let's say I have a 2 bay shear wall going up 6 stories. I can label the left piers P1 and the right piers P2, or I can label the piers P1-P12, or label all the piers as P1. Assuming the walls are similar, and I want to utilize "general reinforcement" or "uniform reinforcement" (Design -> Shear Wall Design -> Assign Pier Sections for Checking -> ) what is the best way to label the piers? I do not want the same reinforcement at each floor unless necessary (I.E. for the 1st floor, I can have #10 @ 12" and the rest of the floors at #8 @ 16", etc.).

2)Is it really that tedious of a process to run an analysis then "Design Check of Structure" (Design -> Shear Wall Design -> Start Design/Check of Structure)? For example:

a. Assign Pier Labels for walls (For my structure I would have 12 individual piers, 12 possible walls?)

b. Define Pier Sections for checking (again a possible 12 piers)

c. Run analysis and Design/Check of structure

d. Inspect each individual wall (12 possible) to see if reinforcement satisfies flexure and shear?

e. If wall does not satisfy, unlock and adjust reinforcement accordingly (12 possible again).

Replies continue below

Recommended for you