Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Conductor Sizing 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

fzlo

Electrical
May 28, 2021
US
I'm quite new to the engineering field and I was told to check if the sizing for the motor was done correct. The motor was a 214KW 480V with FLA of 330A. I thought that since the motor only had an RPM of 1000, I would need to size the conductor for 125% of the FLA and not the FLC. I was later given the datasheet for the motor and saw multiple power ratings and now I am currently unsure how the power rating was selected for the circuit. I was also then told that it was controlled by a motor drive which has listed the current at 438A. Does the conductor have to be sized for the input current of the VFD for this or am I supposed to use the FLA of the motor?

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=47ee4856-e4c8-4c61-87ab-43b03969153b&file=1PC1341-3AC79-0AA4_M4L_datasheet_en.pdf
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, the power is lower at the low RPM but the peak amps is still the same as the nameplate.

Your datasheet adds some confusion because it's showing power ratings at different duty cycles. The nameplate should show the S1 rating which is 325 amps.

The VFD needs to meet or exceed the motor rating. A VFD rated for 438 amps exceeds the rating. During commissioning you will input the motor nameplate data into the VFD.

So for the conductor sizing, I would need to size it for 125% of 325A which is 406.25A. Is that correct?