Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

config.pro help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picklefactory

Automotive
Jun 4, 2008
GB
Hi folks
I'm a complete newbie at ProE, so apologies for any stupid questions in advance.

I have Wildfire 3 and I seem to have managed to install it without setting up any config files. I've done some reading on it, and I think I could really do with these, especially for search paths and standard settings.

Could anyone explain to me how I go about creating these from scratch,as I don't appear to have any set up. When I look in Tools>Options, there is nothing there.

Just to help explain my current setup, ProE is loading from C:\Program Files\proeWildfire 3.0 and I generally will be accessing a network drive to store part files etc. in case that's of any use.

Thanks folks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Pro/E does not ship with any pre-configured config.pro files. You have to make your own. I think there would be a market for an enterprising VAR to sell a simple set of config.pro, config.win, config.sup, drawing.dtl, templates, etc. but that's another story.

All the config.pro files are simple ascii text files. You can create them and edit them with any text editor. You can make them through the Tools/Options interface if you want but it's a little slow & cumbersome. One good thing is it avoids misspelling options & has a search interface.

If you start the help system, go to the fundamentals section and search for config you will find all kinds of info. Here is the fundamental part about how Pro/E reads config files at startup: