Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Confused Engineer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whinycat2011

Electrical
Sep 14, 2011
US
I am trying to understand the issue with my career advancement in my present company.Please kindly excuse my lengthy writing here.

I am a Electrical engineer with a MS and 10 years exp. I am currently with a company for 4.5 years. I have been asking for promotion to next level (Level 3) for about 1.5 years now but my manager has not promoted me yet. After I have made the formal request for the promotion (1.5 years ago), I have been working on more tougher assignments and making promised progress on time. In this 1.5 year time frame, I have completed two major new product development assigments which my manager is impressed about (I hope so from his feedback). I got a 4.0 rating for last year. Even though my manager is well aware of all this, I still dont get a sense that I will be promoted.

In a effort to understand why I am not being promoted, I bring this topic up during formal evaluations and many one-on-one meetings. During those conversations, I ask my manager is there anything I need to improve inorder to be promoted. He says I am doing great and there is nothing wrong in my part but just "implies" me to be patient. One time, he mentioned that me asking many times is not working towards my benefit. Another time, he said that if I go to another company, I may be promoted but not here. This was about 6months ago. I was pretty upset hearing it. After that I have kept quiet about asking except kept him informed of the progress I am making in my projects. Recently, during my mid year review, when I again expected that I will be promoted (but obviously not), I asked him why but never got any proper reasoning form him except he mentioned that he will "try" getting me promoted in the next cycle (which means this year end) but he also mentioned "don't hold me to it".

So I am wondering,