Connection deisgn for for weak axis moment/shea

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeathRay009

Mechanical
Jan 7, 2024
PK
Hi,

I am a newbie in connection design so kindly bear with me. I want to deisgn a steel connection between a beam and column, I am going through the examples in AISC but nowhere have I seen them design a connection for weak axis moment/shear, or when moment/shear exist in strong and weak both axis. I have also gone through other questions in this forum but couldn't find a satisfactory answer. Kindly point me to the right direction in this regard.

And feel free to point out if I have missed any information.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If connection is to the web or flange, I'd likely use an endplate on the beam, assuming it can fit in the 'web space' and design the end plate and fasteners for the required moment.

-----*****-----
So strange to see the singularity approaching while the entire planet is rapidly turning into a hellscape. -John Coates

-Dik

More picture less words DeathRay009. You really aren't describing your issue well.

If it is weak access beam moment into a column the connection physical design is mostly similar. The analysis of the connection has the compression and tension loads rotated 90degrees and you go from there. Not too hard except now you are putting torsion onto the column which needs to be resolved. Of course this answer only applies if I've correctly guessed your question.

Thanks for the drawing. My guess at the question was correct and my reply stands. The general approach to checking this is not to different to a regular moment connection except the neutral axis is rotated 90 degrees about the x direction. If you have Mx and My then I'd be summing the loads. However as I already mention your COLUMN would then have to resist torsion unless there are similar beams frame into it.

DeathRay009 said: