Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Connector Damage/Failure

jball1

Mechanical
Nov 4, 2014
US
I have a model that includes several bolted joints. In this model, I have modeled the fasteners with connector elements which have the three translational stiffnesses defined (two shear, one axial).

This is a transient analysis. I am predicting failure in a minority of the bolts in two of the connections (~20% of one connection and ~10% of another). I have never done this before, but I would like to include in my simulation failure of the connectors when the fasteners reach a particular von Mises stress, so that I can see how the force gets redistributed after fasteners fail (does the whole connection fail, or can it handle the failure of a few bolts?).

I have never done this before, and so I am reading the documentation. It seems like including connector failure based upon a simple force or moment limit is straightforward. It also seems like coupling the load in two or more direction is possible. However, I’ll be honest, I am not understanding all of the menus, and the documentation seems lacking to me (or maybe I’m just too dense!).

It seems like I have to use Behavior = Damage, not Behavior = Failure if I want to include coupling. Then I need to add “Initiation Potential”, and then “Specify Derived Component”, but then this is where it doesn’t seem like it is going to work. I need to be able to do the square root of the sum of the squares to calculate the overall shear force, and then I need to calculate the von Mises stress. It doesn’t seem like I can do one operation inside of another like that.