Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Constructing 2D Velocity Diagrams for Axial Flow Steam Turbines

Status
Not open for further replies.

DonkeyPhysics

Jul 16, 2009
US
Howdy,

I'm a new steam turbine engineer, working on my first project, but in a fairly new department such that I don't have anybody here with more experience in this particular area.

I've been reading as many textbooks, papers and other internet resources as I can find, and I can't find a definitive answer to this question. I need to construct (mid-span) 2D velocity diagrams for existing blades. My problem is that I can't seem to find information about which part of the geometry to use to build those diagrams (i.e. to measure the entry and exit angles). All the textbooks & other sources I've seen seem to show the various angles as floating in space mid-cascade, or pointing to the blade tips, without actually following the specific geometry of the blades.

So, my ultimate question is: should I be building these angles using the geometry from the suction side (convex), pressure side (concave), camber line, or mean-passage curve(i.e. a spline constructed using the center-points of circles tanget to both the suction and pressure sides of the passage)? I'm personally leaning towards the mean blade passage curve option, but I've seen figures that seem to variously indicate ALL of the above options are plausible.

To add some background detail, if it helps, I am attempting to perform a 2D flow analysis of a 5MW Single-Flow Axial, Impulse Steam Turbine. The ultimate purpose is to serve as an evaluation of a rebuild of the diaphragms for all stages. As such, it's basically a form of reverse engineering, since I'm attempting to evaluate the characteristics of already-built products.