Continuing Education and Certifications for Young Aero Designer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aero.Aspirant

Aerospace
Jul 12, 2024
US
Greetings all,

I have just completed my first year as an Design engineer working for a small aerospace company producing various STCs for varying air frames. I graduated college with an undergraduate's degree in mechanical engineering with a "good" (for an undergrad) background in aircraft structural design and stress analysis.

My current work is more focused on modeling and design work for interior and structure related projects. My company is offering to pay for a course / certification of my choosing for either structural analysis or design.

I was wondering if you guys had any recommendations for useful / interesting coursework which would result in a professional certificate. The standard course they offer is the Practical Stress Analysis for Design Engineers by Flabel. Frankly I am interested in taking that but I just wanted to make sure I am not missing out on the opportunity to take a more fundamental or recognized course.

I am open to suggestions!

(I have academic with Bruhn, Niu, and Roark. Are there any programs which would certify my ability to implement portions of their methodologies in a professional setting?)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Flabel is a good enough course. At this stage of your career anything helps. The key is seeing/learning how to apply what you learn in the classroom (the theory) to the real world. It seems like you're on a pretty good course. Recognise that "mod-shops" (or "chop-shops") deal with a particular set of problems, particularly if you're working interior monuments.