Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Contracts and Liability Issues for Residential Construction? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

AAHstruct

Structural
Oct 25, 2005
US
Hi. I’m a Professional Engineer in structural looking to start up a little side-business in Idaho, and I have a couple of questions regarding contracting and liability. I think that my situation is pretty commonplace, and I hope to tap into other’s expertise for advice. (I apologize if these questions have already been addressed, but I couldn’t find any threads on these topics elsewhere and my experience with a construction lawyer earlier this week was less than satisfying).

I’ve been recently contacted by several designers looking for an engineer that will provide limited scope services for their residential structures. Most of the time they need calculations on a portal wall, a perforated shear wall, tall walls, or anything that doesn’t fit under conventional construction, in order to secure a building permit.

The following are the questions I have about this process:

1. Is there a standard contract I can use for these types of projects, or is there an example of a contract I could use? Would a standard AIA C142 contract or a standard EJCDC 520 contract apply for these types of projects? (I’d like to know if they’d work before I purchase copies of them).