Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Control Logix versus Micro Logix PLCs

Status
Not open for further replies.

eeprom

Electrical
May 16, 2007
US
Hello,
I have been programming for many years, and I have been using AB MicroLogix PLCs for several. On several occasions in the recent past I have had salesmen try to get me to switch to ControlLogix. The price difference between these two families is tremendous. A ControlLogix CPU would cost many times what a Micrologix CPU would. And that does not take into account the software.

A Micrologix1400 would cost me around $700 plus programming time. With that PLC I could handle any digital I/O, any type of analog I/O, data logging, messaging to other PLCs and VFDs, and a decent range of math functions. In fact, the only shortcoming I find with the 1400 is that doing any complicated math is tedious.

If I were to purchase a ControlLogix processor for the same project, it would cost more than $5000.

Can someone tell me what I would gain by switching to a ControlLogix CPU?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Thye ControlLogix is capable of controlling much more I/O then the MicroLogix. The MicroLogix is usually limited to a ma of four I/O modules. In contrast the ControlLogix can handle hundreds of I/O modules. It is the difference between controlling a single machine and controlling an entire plant.

I recently upgraded the controls on a small engine driven cogen system using a MicroLogix 1500 and a PanelView Plus. The system went in fine, works well, and is based on similar control systems I have used for years.