Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Converting 480 three phase to 240 single phase and possible imbalance problems 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

TempleRob

Mechanical
Jun 10, 2013
US
Hello All,

Long time lurker, first time poster. ET has been a great resource for the past decade. Thank you everyone for your thoughtful information.

I'm a mechanical vehicle engineer (Temple University, 2013) respectfully requesting a bit of electrical support.
I’ve taken a new role where I’m responsible for both the vehicle fleet and now the maintenance facility. I want to install an off the shelf Snap-On parts washer. It is a 230VAC, single phase, 60 amp machine. I have 480VAC three phase power and I’m looking to utilize a transformer, and/or possibly a converter to step down the voltage and convert it to single phase.

The shop has an 800 amp and 1,000 amp main breaker panels in the power distribution room, and I assume both are fed from the same supply. A power study was previously performed. The 1,000 amp panel was observed to have a peak draw of ~950 amps, but the 800 amp panel had a peak draw of ~225 amps. I will therefore have a “home run” fed to the machine on a dedicated circuit and breaker from the 800 amp panel. Transforming the 480, I expect to consume ~30 amps from the 800 amp panel. I’m looking for the best balance between cost and complexity. My concern is creating an unbalanced load, which may have undesirable heating/performance side effects to motors (HVAC, elevator, large vehicle hoist, etc) and other equipment being fed from the 800 amp panel.