Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Converting three phase power transmission to single phase power

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tsiolkovsky

Mechanical
May 20, 2010
ZA
Hi all, I'm not an electrical engineer but a question is itching my brain.

How does one convert three phase power to single phase power? (preferably with a diagram attached?)

The reason I ask is that the three phase power transmission system is the de facto power transmission system.
Also, concerning domestic households, single phase domestic power consumption is the de facto domestic power consumption method.

Given that these systems are ubiquitous in every corner of the world, I would expect an explanation of this on the internet yet not a single hit on google search. In fact, all I get are articles explaining the opposite process and claiming phase converters are much more used in converting single phase to three phase (the opposite of what Im looking for). REALLY?? Much more used in converting single to three phase??? Well maybe Im on the wrong planet here, but I in my world, three to 1 phase conversion is WAY more common as per my reasons above.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is no conversion, if you only use part of the 3-phase system then you get single phase. Connect between 2 phases or between 1 phase and ground. You also connect the different loads/sites onto different phases to keep the overall load on all 3-phases somewhat balanced.

Lets for simplicity sake ignore the transformer in the diagram and say we dont want to step up/down, we just want to branch off.

Please check the attachment picture below is what I'm talking about.

The top part of the pic is the transmission line (with no neutral line) and the bottom part is trying to tap off into a single phase for domestic use. Is it really this simple?

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=29bb6dc1-5dd7-4354-8b45-939630f6353f&file=Capture.PNG