Convincing Others / Influencing Others 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

CARF

Industrial
Feb 20, 2003
NL
Dear all,

For a year I joined a new project team. With all kind of different (engineering) backgrounds. Nice people. But ...
Every time a make a proposal or have an idea in my own area of skills it takes me months to convince the others. They just won't accept my "authority" (in other words I have no authority at all).

This is new for me in 10 years of different and succesful projects in control engineering. Most of the time my work was accepted without "any" discussion.

Altough the athmosphere in the team is exellent I'm losing time and it frustates me.

Any suggestions?

MVD

P.S. I have an MSc. Control Systems Engineering

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There may not be anything you can do.

Are the others not knowledgeable in your field? You could perhaps set up one or more seminars to explain various aspects of your field. This would make them more knowledgeable as well as demonstrate your mastery of the subject, since you really need to know your subject to adequately teach someone else.

Is it unique to your material? Perhaps there's just a lack of real leadership, so no one wants to make decisions.

TTFN

Must be nice to work on a project where months can go by with no apparent progress and nobody seems to care.

Once you do manage to convince the rest of the team have your ideas actually been implemented? And if so, have they worked? Success breeds success.

Is the nature of the team such that you could just do it, rather than discuss it? If so you could build yourself a reputation as a "take charge" guy.

Thanks. You are helping me,

1) Seminars? Good idea. I'll try to convince through presenting former succeses.
2) Indeed there no real project leader. The team is "self-steering". I proposed to be project leader for the control systems, but again I could not convince.