Cooling tower Fan failures

Status
Not open for further replies.

cedeng

Materials
Mar 23, 2005
CA
Hi
I'm working on the case of our cooling tower fan (Hamon-Sobelco fan) whom brake in the blade holder (good term?).

Blade holder is cracking at bolt hole (which retain blades) and advance in fatigue propagation. It is 40'' diameter and 1 inch thick.

What could be the cause of failure ? Vibration ?(sure) Flow and pressure of air sucked? I don't know where to start, I'm a beginner in fan modelization.

Material is NOT A POINT TO BE CONSIDER, after fracture analysis, we conclude that fatigue failure is occuring even in stronger material.

Assembly of the blades are as this picture on the Howden site and blades are FRP.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Nice big toys. I don't really understand what you want, but I think you are unwise to eliminate fatigue so quickly.

Do you undertsand the theory of crack initiations?

What number of cycles (revolutions) are you getting failures at?

Is this a one-off unti or do you have many units taht all fail?

Cheers

Greg Locock

Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

sounds like fatigue has NOT been eliminated ("fatigue failure is occuring") from consideration.

Is the crack initiating on the "saddle" side, or on the nut side? What is the direction of propagation? Is the saddle a very stiff component, or relatively flexible?

Gregg,

I am surprized that their design is not using through-holes on the pillow blocks (aluminum blade supports on their web site).

They may be creating quite a stress riser between the edge of their Al support and the bolt hole.

I was thinking the same thing. It sounds like there is significant fluctuation in the bolt load, though (seems undesireable), and I figured I'd wait for more info.