Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cooling tower: the use or not of VFD pumps 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

DownesB

Mechanical
Jun 6, 2004
US
Hello (new to the site)

I am a recent MS graduate in ME. I am working on a cooling tower application.

The cooling tower is for a steam turbine. Every degree that we can lower the water temperature means we can produce more kilowatts. But every motor used in the process is less killowatts net. The application is in the design phase and is in the Southeastern part of the united states (high wet bulb temps in the summer).

I am looking at the possiblity of installing VFDs on our pumps for this reason:
If we can reduce the energy needed by the cirulating pumps, we can reduce the ancilary load. During the summer the wet bulb temperature is very high and if the water can only be cooled to a certain point anyway then we can reduce flow. Is this common? Any steam turbine / cooling tower experts out there?

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Under these extreme summer conditions reduced CW flow will have a detrimental effect on your condenser performance.

Look at your condenser curves and look at the effects of various flow rates, or ask your condenser OEM for a set (family) of condenser curves at varying flows like a plant on a river with a variable level (and hence, variable condenser CW flow) would have.

Or, google HEI and find their website, and order a condenser software that will let you model the condenser water flow at the lowest attainable summertime temperature, and you will be able to see your back pressure rise, penalizing you by way more kilowatts than you are saving with vfd motors on your pumps.