Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Copyright of plans 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiddleCE

Civil/Environmental
Aug 28, 2008
US
This must have been covered in a prior post, but I can't find it so here it goes:
I am a civil engineer and I prepare a site plan with proposed improvements, such as a driveway and grading details, all on private property. This is submitted to a permitting agency. Can this be copied by the public agency and given to others? If I have a falling out with the client prior to issuing the grading permit, due to delays from the public agency, can my work be used by others, without my permission, to continue with the permitting process or by them to make some changes and resubmit the work plan? I content that my work is complete and meets the agency requirements but the customer refuses to pay for work beyond the initial contract, that the public agency is asking for, but not required by code. There are other issues going on that caused this to "snowball" into a mess but I don't want my plan used by other without the understanding by all that the already submitted plan is okay and the owner does not have recourse claiming my plan is not complete. There is a lot going on in my questions but I am basically asking for advice on the copyright aspect of the plans.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The short answer is "probably yes"... but for site and civil work it may be that easy. Copyrighting drawings for "architectural works" is more straight forward. However, it would be up to you to hire lawyers, etc. to determine if your work may be copyrighted and later to prove copyright infringement.