Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Correlation friction angle/grain size for stone material for embankments 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Davor30

Geotechnical
Jul 8, 2015
HR
Hello,
I have a embankment of stone material whis is stabile with friction angle fi=42 and cohesion c=0. Are there any connections/correlations between the friction angle and cohesion of my stone material and grain size of the stone of the materials. Does exists dependence of grain size due to the friction angle and cohesion? Which granulation of stone material I must to select for my parameter?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I assume your 42 degree measurement is of the slope angle above horizontal. I'd not attribute that angle to a specific grain size distribution, but more likely on shape of particles. Let's say the material was a series of building bricks laid horizontally. Their relative size would be less important than their shapes.

Cohesion is usually unrelated to friction angle but mineral type.

Friction angle of stone material is related to the shape of the particles, the density of the material and the strength/hardness of the intact particles. For relatively small embankments the strength/hardness of the intact particles is unimportant since it only matters if the stresses are high enough to crush the particles.

A lower bound phi can be determined by measuring the angle of repose of the material.

As oldestguy indicates, no cohesion is generally present in granular/stone material.

Mike Lambert