Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Crazy results!

Status
Not open for further replies.

HalMatt

Automotive
Feb 25, 2013
NL
Hi all,

This is first post here so hello again to you all!

I'm a student currently on placement, I been using online tutorials to teach myself the basic skills of Mechanica, with which the company I work for hopes I'll be able run FEA testing on designs they're making. I am struggling with one particular model and assembly at the moment in which a metal plate is bolted to a plastic housing, with an internal bursting pressure applied. When I simulate the test on the plate alone, it shows a masximum displacement of around 1mm, which is roughly what's expected. When I run it with the plastic housing as well in an assembly the whole thing distorts and offers a max displacement of 5 METERS! I get these error in the interactive diagnostic box:

** Warning: One or more contacts in the model will
have no effect because it is not possible for
any of the elements on one side of the contact
region to contact any of the elements on the
other side. See the log file for a list of
contacts for which this applies.
(I assume this one is because part of the plastic surface extends past the plate, leaving an area on that surface that is not in contact with the model?)

** Warning: Poor tangential constraint detected during
contact analysis. Contacts are
frictionless and constraint must be provided
tangential to the contact.

** Warning: One or more contacts in the model will
have no effect because it is not possible for
any of the elements on one side of the contact
region to contact any of the elements on the
other side. See the log file for a list of
contacts for which this applies.