Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

creating flood wall in levee using slope/w

Status
Not open for further replies.

levee

Civil/Environmental
Feb 4, 2008
US
I am a water resouces engineer. currently i am doing stablity analysis for some levees using slope/w. now i have to do stability analysis for a levee with flood wall in it. the flood wall is located at the top of the waterside slope of levee and the bottom of flood wall is about 4 ft below the top surface of the levee and the top is about 3 ft above the top surface of levee. now can anyone please tell me how can i create that flood wall using slope/w.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

levee,

I haven't used the current version of Slope/W, but I would imagine that it's as simple as creating a soil layer or layers that matches the section of the flood wall. Set the strength parameters for the wall to infinite strength.

Jeff

If you don't understand how a slope stability program uses material strengths and have a lot of experience, you should probably get someone else to do the analysis.

A levee is not the time to learn how slope stability software works.

I agree with GeoPaveTraffic, levee evaluation should be performed by someone with experience. Scour and erosion are major issues, as well as undrained strengths and seepage pressures/groundwater modelling. There was a very good article in the ASCE monthly a year or so back, I believe by Mitchell or Duncan.

That said, modelling structural elements with Limit Equilibrium methods is tricky. Here is what Slope/W recommends:

Summary

Taking into account the effect of a sheet pile wall or other similar structural elements in a SLOPE/W stability analysis.

Description

When a potential slip surface passes through a sheet pile wall, for example at the base of an excavation, the shear resistance of the wall will affect the factor of safety.

Resolution