Cross Bracing Configuration in Wall with Windows 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

EV11

Structural
Mar 30, 2021
CA
Hi Everyone,
I am an engineer in training and I have a quick question regarding lateral bracing for structural steel buildings.

I am currently working on the design of a standard one-storey structural steel building (square geometry, retail store). The front wall of the building is almost entirely made up of windows. In this wall, I need to include a type of bracing to resist lateral wind loading however, the architect + client prefer not to have bracing members exposed in the windows.

I would be able to add in cross bracing (or X bracing) in the upper section of one of the frames (as there are no windows here) – see attached sketch. Note that this is a one-storey building, the beam shown at mid-span of the frame in the sketch is a horizontal strut that will also be used to support a small entrance canopy.

My question – is this bracing configuration acceptable? I am concerned about load path. It has always been my understanding that braced frames (single or multi-storey) must be designed so that the lateral load can travel through the bracing members and make its way to the foundation. I might be overthinking things, but my configuration does not appear to allow that.

I know that incorporating a moment frame would be an option, but I would like to stick with bracing if possible.

Thank you.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=6ecafcc6-d3c1-49a6-85d5-cca43f8c326a&file=Cross-Bracing_Configuration.pdf
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ev11, have you looked at providing bracing on the sides and rear of the retail store? ie a 3-sided box. This could be an option and you just need to check that the additional twist from an eccentric wind won't deform the front glazed side enough to damage the glass.