Cryogenic Test Bench for Valves 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

NGiLuzzu

Mechanical
Dec 17, 2002
RO
Dear All,
I work in the industrial valves business, were cryogenic testing is more and more required, in addition to standard room temperature tests (hydraulic shell strength of valve bodies, pneumatic and hydraulic tightness of valve seats, etc. as per API 598 and similar standards) wich are usually performed on dedicated test benches.

Dealing with butt-weld end valves to be cryo-tested (using liquid nitrogen as coolant and helium gas as test medium, according to BS 6364 standard or Shell MESC SPE 77/306 specification) and the relevant problems in applying test "caps" to enclose them, I was wondering about... a possible "Cryogenic Test Bench", i.e. a bench for valve testing which uses liquid nitrogen (or another cryogenic fluid) instead of air and water.

Does such an animal exist? ;-)

Thanks and Regards, 'NGL

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

VentilTestEquipment,
sorry for the late reply!!
;-)
May I ask if you have ever realized "such an animal"?
In that case, what valve sizes could be tested on it?

Many thanks, 'NGL

NGL, lets get back to your specifications BS6364 and Shell Mesc 77/306.
These only allow you to immerse the valve so that the LIN is on the outside. I believe one reason for this is safety, plus testing valves using the LIN on the inside is not good bacause a cryogenic pump is required, possible split phase flow would also be an issue. The leak rate - would it be a liquid or the expanded gas from the liquid?; which could not be measured in the same way as helium, No low temp rotameters(to measure BS6364 leak rates) exist(to measure cryo liquid flow).The expansion rate of the liquid to gas in itself would cause significant problems in monitoring the leak rate.
If you presented this test rig to British Standards and Shell I do not believe you would have an acceptable test.
Br
Bernard

Burdy,
I appreciate your points.