Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Culvert with shallow cover frost jacked

Status
Not open for further replies.

LLigetfa

Computer
Jun 3, 2011
CA
This is my first post to this forum. I design computer networks for a living, not roadways. When I built my home, I had the contractor strip off the foot or so of black clay topsoil down to grey clay and replace with gravel. Unfortunately the gravel was of a poor grade with clay fines in it.

I have a 10 inch steel culvert with only a couple inches of cover going under the walkway and every Spring, the frost heaves it up. The culvert never returns to the same grade as material seems to migrate under it. Every few years I dig it all up and reset the grade. The walkway is made up of stepping stones with grass growing between them so the stones move up and down with the frost.

My real problem now is the wife doesn't want grass between the stones any more but rather wants the stones set in concrete with exposed aggregate surface. The frost heaving at the culvert will break up the concrete.

The frost in this area can and does go down about 6 feet and I am not about to dig up the entire walkway and redo the base. No matter what material I put there, it is still a low spot and will fill with water for the frost to act on.

At one point, I replaced the steel culvert with a 6 inch plastic one thinking the smaller diameter would allow for more cover and might heave less. Unfortunately, it filled with water which froze and blocked the flow resulting in water overflowing the walkway. She made me put back the 10 inch culvert which generally only half fills with ice so the top half still flows.