Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Custom decorative film application in aircraft interior surface

Status
Not open for further replies.

heinessen

Aerospace
Nov 15, 2015
KR
Hello.

I am a new engineer of airline company.
My company has a plan to apply custom decorative film to cabin interior surface like below.
DECORATIVE_FILM_lm86rb.jpg

But we are concerning if this plan could violate some regulations related to aircraft safety.
I understand that this decorative film should meet flammability requirement stated in FAR 25 but I am wondering if another process except flammability test should be done to comply with FAA requirement such as 8110-3 or minor change approval.
It would be appreciated if anyone could advise me on this subject.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think I can see placards on these partitions. Are they still visible, and are they still NOTICEABLE by the general public.
It's one thing to put up a sign - it's quite another to make it obvious and legible so that the message will be received.
The two arrows that I can see are perhaps for the crew... location of safety equipment, so maybe not such a big problem.
If the pattern of the illustration was more intrusive on the preferred placard location, however, you still wouldn't be in compliance with reg's.

Otherwise, once the sample of partition has passed flammability tests (as you've mentioned) I don't see a big problem. I get the feeling you've already had an earful about flammability...
But for the sake of completeness, consider vertical 12-second burn, and heat release AND smoke release test - preventing you from getting away with a "minor change approval" that you are hoping to get.