Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cut and fill cost estimating

Status
Not open for further replies.

tincap

Chemical
Jan 9, 2004
GB
Hello, I'm a Process Engineer. Am looking at a potential process plant project on a Mediterrean Island. The proposed site is hilly & in a Seismic zone. Cut and fill of volcanic sedimentary rock is required (minimal soil). Have had a civils study to estimate cost of preparatory works - I want to play around with different cuts and fills, and do my own rough calculations.

Been reading some earlier threads about programs such as Agtek, Earthmover, Paydirt, etc. What I want to know is are there any good freeware programs around, or can anyone point me in the direction of civils sites that show how to go about estimating and have guides or rules of thumb for cost estimating.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

why dont you plot your profile w/ an acad program, lay out your grades longitudinally and transversely and estimate your volumes of cuts and fills.

In my opinion,

While I can appreciate your interest, why don't you use your civil to do this? they should have software, and can identify grading issues, retaining wall feasability, construction & access issues, seismic design considerations, etc. A good civil should be able to work with you on alternatives if you explain your goals.

Are you going to be comfortable re-estimating earthwork on this project based on you learning some free software on the fly? Does your time have value? How do you intend to address the seismic issues when considering fill options?