Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Datum Feature Symbol Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

navyhill

Mechanical
Apr 15, 2010
US
I am fairly new to Pro/E and I am having trouble figuring out the process for getting reference datums to display in my drawings. I have defined two datums in my model. A datum plane "A" on one end of a cylindrical part and a datum axis "B" through the centerline of the cylinder. The datum feature symbol displays in the model correctly on their respective datums. When I go to the drawing, the datum "A" is correctly shown on the drawing view, but the datum "B" is not showing up. I have tried inserting every possible view, along with Show/Erase > show all - to try to get Pro/E to display all datums, to no avail. I have also tried placing the datum on the feature itself and attached it to the surface of the cylinder. Again, it shows correctly in the model, but will not show in the drawing. Does someone have a nice little tutorial or some helpful hints on this or even a way to add the feature symbol manually in the drawing? Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Datum axes don't show/erase as datums on the drawing. They are attached to either a dimension or an axis, which must be shown for the datum to appear.

In the model, right-click the required datum axis in the model tree (you will have already given it a datum letter).

In the dialogue box, select the Datum Symbol type [-A-]. In the placement dialogue, click 'In Dim'. Select the appropriate geometry on the screen, and all the dimensions will appear. Select the diameter dimension you want the datum to appear on.

Show that dimension on the drawing, and the datum symbol will show up.