Dealing with multiple job changes on Resume. 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mech5656

Mechanical
Aug 2, 2014
US
Dear all,

I graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering in 2012 and since then I have undergone six job changes with my most recent position lasting 10 months. Currently, I am two months into my current role and am actively seeking a new opportunity.

The primary motivation for my job search is to engage in more technically challenging work and to secure a position with a higher compensation package. I am contemplating strategies to present my employment history, including the option of omitting one job from my resume and extending the duration of my previous position.

I am seeking guidance on the most effective approach to navigate the job market given my history of multiple job changes. As hiring managers, how would you recommend addressing such a profile and what strategies would you find most compelling in a candidate?

Thank you for your insights and assistance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

First, do not omit any work history. Be honest with potential employers. If you are pursuing more pay and challenging work, tell them exactly that. There is nothing wrong with wanting a specific path for your career. Just remember, there will be plenty of less exciting projects between the high profile and challenging projects.

Yes, do not omit work history, and do not lie about job duration.
Perhaps in a cover letter explain some of the reasons for the frequent job changes. Six jobs in 12 years is not that bad, though the recent 10 month and 2 month durations are a bit troubling; be ready with good explanations for these.
Why did you take your current job if it does not meet your challenging and pay goals?

Go contract.

With that sort of past history you often won't get to first base.