Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dear experts, I am a beginner wi

Status
Not open for further replies.

LIAM_7

Structural
Apr 4, 2019
ES
Dear experts,

I am a beginner with ANSYS Mechanical. I worked a lot in CFD with FLUENT, CFX, ANSYS ACT (acoustics)...so I am familiar with the GUI and the Workbench environment.

I am trying to simulate a load on a hinge with static structural analysis. Load of 500 kg, applied on an 50 mm long face located in the top of the hinge. Gravity is also included in the model. The part is fixed using Fixed support condtion.Please find attached a picture of the conditions imposed.

The dimensions of the part are around 24 cm long, 9 cm high and 0,3 cm thick.

I have information about the deformation for several loads.. What I did and will try to do (in a second step) is:

1. First I did a linear elastic analysis with several steps (increasing the load according to experiments) and compared the deformation results of the zone where the load is applied with test results. This provide good agreement between both results (FEM and measurements) except where larger deformations occur (around more than 400 kg where plasticity clearly appears). It must be noted that the tests are performed as follows: load applied, discharge, measurement. Without changing the part, load is increased and applied again, then discharge and then measure again. They repeat this process until deformation is relatively large (around 5 mm)