Status
Not open for further replies.

BZLAM21

Petroleum
Aug 12, 2020
IT
HI,
I am a beginner in the study of engineering and i need your help
Is it wise to consider 20% over design for all utility to cover any change expected in process during engineering?
Please advice.

Best regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not wise, certainly not as a blanket statement.
On large pipeline systems, that might mean hundreds of million dollars and kill your project before ever leaving the starting gate. On an item by item basis, it could easily shift pump and other equipment sizes to uneconomic cost, or compromise their best operating ranges and wind up increasing operation and maintenance for the life of the system.

It should be evaluated carefully, probably on a unit by unit basis and with regard to stage of the project, degree of project definition (potential for change), total project cost and staged investment criteria (build-now costs verses costs of future add ons).

My strategy is to design for specified design conditions first, then check for what maximum capacity can be achieved with that design, then lastly identify potential bottlenecks and estimate costs of any further increase in capacity.

--Einstein gave the same test to students every year. When asked why he would do something like that, "Because the answers had changed."

Yes, - 20% is correct ... _ You have discovered our secret !!!

A 20% margin on everything, in all cases, for any application, for any utility ....

... Yup, that's what we all do !!

.... and as a heavily medicated retired Senior Engineer and PE .... I highly support the 20% on everything !!

MJCronin
Sr. Process Engineer

Except taxes.

--Einstein gave the same test to students every year. When asked why he would do something like that, "Because the answers had changed."