Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Design of Vibration Fixture Plate 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

EnginerdNate

Aerospace
Feb 4, 2019
US
Hi All,

I've been tasked with heading the design a effort for a mechanical vibration/shock test (Following MIL-STD-810G methods) and I'm having some difficulty with the fixturing. I'm a structural analyst/designer by trade so I'm familiar with the programs, but my bread and butter design wise is mostly design/analysis to a static strength spec. I'm well out of my depth on this dynamics stuff.

The part attaches to the fixture at four points and the CG is quite high--~20" from the mounting face. This is not something I have the ability to change. Currently the fixture mounts to the table with a large number of 3/8" bolts on 2" centers.

I have run several variations of the fixture through modal analysis in NX Nastran. I represented the unit under test by a point mass (Including inertial properties) linked to the four test mounting points via RBE2 rigid elements. I have modeled the table interface with a combo of cbush elements using Houth's stiffness model to model the mounting bolts and cgap elements with arbitrarily high stiffness to model the 'no penetration' condition of the interface between my mounting fixture and the shaker table.

It seems no matter what I do, I can't push the modes related to the unit under test 'wagging' in the three primary directions (Side to side in the two axis and in/out of the plate) out of the test frequency range. I've successfully doubled the resonant frequencies with design changes but it started at such a poor point that doubling it is still right smack in the middle of the applied spectrum.