Design Structurally a Wet well (Lift Station) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rpardo_A36

Structural
Jan 29, 2024
US
Hello all,
I am fairly new to this, so I am designing my first Pump station that contains a Wet Well.
I would like to know what software and process are required to complete a design like this.
My wet well contains a 2' top slab with 2' walls and a 4' bottom slab along with a seal slab.
connected is a discharge chamber that will be cast in place and reinforced.
inside the wet well will contain a platform for a trash rack with design size grating, Steel beams of W shape & angle Shape with fasteners.
Beams will be anchored to the wet well.
I am stuck on design the grating, steel beams (along with bracing), and anchorage from steel beams to wet well walls.
Thanks all,
-RP

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What diameter is your lift station? Also, is it a sanitary or stormwater lift station?

In my experience, you can easily do pre-cast designs for 6ft and 8ft diameter wells. You can technically go up to 12ft diameter with pre-cast, but every time I try and do that; I run into issues with the amount of steel in the precast sections. I have found that it is easier to show a cast-in-place design on the plans; and then say 'at contractors option, a signed & sealed ACI 350 compliant pre-cast design may be submitted for engineer's review and approval."

JoelTXCive, if it is round, you can just follow the ASTM circular riser reinforcing standard? I forgot what ASTM it was. I dont remember seeing any depth associated with it.

Thanks for your response, this will be a precast wet well with a Cassion method for construction.
I have designed the wet well of the walls, top slab, and bottom slab.
This post will be more direct to the steel beam design and Grating design within the wet well.