Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Desperate request for validation of flammable vapour release rate and concentration calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.

123MB

Electrical
Apr 25, 2008
AU
Hi All,

I am an electrical engineer who is undertaking hazardous area classification for a dust handling plant.

In performing this classification it has become apparent that there is an area of the plant where a combustible liquid is added to a mix of grains and meals and the mix is heated above the flash point of the liquid.

I have conservatively identified that the area inside the process containment where the mix is heated is a potential gas explosion hazard, however I wanted some calculation to back up this assertion and also to assist with the determination of the concentration of flammable vapour which could be expected to be generated, considering some very conservative bases and assumptions.

I have generated the attached calculation from research and formulae found across the internet, but I would really appreciate it if someone could have a read of it and just, from a common sense point of view, validate the approach I have taken.

Thanks so much

Michael.

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=03828fb2-caf7-4b88-8e7f-1cf22846eff5&file=Vapour_Release_Rate_Estimation.pdf
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I dont know what you will use this for - but if formal QA is needed then i dont think that a site like this is suited. If you are just looking for a little guidance then by all means.