Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Detrimental Effects of Re-working Previously Cold Expanded Holes (Fatigue) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cevers1988

Aerospace
Oct 25, 2012
GB
Firstly, this is my first time posting, so hello everyone! I am an F&DT Engineer working in Aerospace, so that sets the scene.

Ok to the point...

During a repair scenario (aerospace wing repairs), I have come accross repair manuals that depict the following:

Oversizing of Cold Worked Holes
The maximum recommended allowable oversizing of previously cold worked holes for repair purposes only are given below:
- From nominal diameter 4.83 mm (0.1902 in) thru 12.7 mm (0.500 in) the maximum allowable oversizing is up to second oversize (nominal + 0.794 mm (0.0313 in)),
[highlight #FCE94F]- For nominal diameter 14.29 mm (0.5626 in) the maximum allowable oversizing is up to next nominal,[/highlight]- From nominal diameter 15.88 mm (0.6252 in) thru 28.58 mm (1.1252 in) the maximum allowable oversizing is up to second oversize (nominal + 0.794 mm (0.0313 in)).

This apparent 'hyperbolic' behavior seems unusal; given that generally, CX residual stress fields increase in dia proportionately to bore dia. I have a few suggestions as to why:

1) Availability of fastener sizes in that category (repair procurment is less predictable than FAL for example).
2) Original justification for such limits may have arrived from a specific case, one of which has proven, through in-service experience, to remain valid.
3) Tolling optimisation at this bore size providing extra benefit (very tenuous :))

Now to the questions...

An addendum was recently circulated stipulating 'all locations above 2nd oversize will require re-cold expansion'.