Developing and Working with other Engineers 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Disgruntleddave

Mechanical
Feb 4, 2007
CA
Greetings

I'm still new to working. I have an undergrad and masters degree and about a year of experience. I've been given an offer but am a bit unsure of it because of the environment I'd be in.

I came from a company where I was working with many other engineers directly that I liked. I thought it was good for development too. This would put me as the only engineer at a location, and I'd be working indirectly with other groups. The primary engineering work would be done in a different company.

It's in the right field, it's in the right geographical location, but it makes me nervous about potential development or lack thereof that I might otherwise get from a boss and coworkers with experience in engineering.

Does anyone have input on his others contributed to your development? Has anyone taken a similar job in a similar position as this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need more experience under the watchfull guidence of folks who have already made thier mistakes.

Moving to a position where you are forced to learn through the expensive school of your own experience does noone any good.

The company looking to hire you has already made the assumption that you have learned everything you need to know in school and will expect you to be successfull all the time with no problems. This is a bad sign and makes you wonder if they know what is involved in engineering. I would stay away.

Just my two cents work.

A question properly stated is a problem half solved.

Always remember, free advice is worth exactly what you pay for it!

I don't think they've necessarily made that kind of assumption. As the 'main' company overseas has design authority, the liaising is probably the more important component, although they were looking for a 'design engineer'.