Devicenet, Modbus, ETC. ??? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

milmat1

Electrical
Jun 21, 2006
US
Hello All:
I have been programming for about 2 years now, PLC's, HMI's, Motion, All using GE-Fanuc products. However, I have a terrible week spot. And that is understanding all the different types of Buss' that are out there for data transfer. I have used Ethernet to some degree, And have set up some remote I/O with versamax PLC's talking to an RX3i Main Rack over Ethernet.
But beyond that I am totally lost ! With all that I have read on the subject of Buss' I am just becoming more confused. Could someone give me just an overview of the Structure of some of the more popular buss' like devicenet, modbus etc...

Any info will be helpfull as I am lost here....

THANKS

Regards,
Matt

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Here is a site about Modbus, which I consider an older protocol (I may get reamed on that one)

As far as Devicenet check out

But this is more of general info. A little more about your desired network may help. Some are designed for large amounts o information and some are designed for fast I/O response

----------------------------------
TW Controls -

Controlnet
called deterministic or broadcast type network
5msec nut adder on any remote drops
can schedule drops till your network is at 100% usage
RG6 cable
Not sure on baud rate, but used for any high speed io

Profibus (or can bus)
variable data speeds (higher speed shorter distance on cable, token ring, but 10x the speed of devicenet)
Purple cable spec? (barney cable, nickname)
if one device goes down any device comm link downstream stays up and running.

Devicenet (similar to Profibus)
token ring
any network where product not going faster than 100fpm
4 wire system flat cable or 4 pin cable

Fieldbus
for runner of profibus
used in europe or germany
if one device goes down any device comm link downstream goes down with it.
cable spec less stringent than profibus

DH+
token ring