Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Diaphragm Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

civg

Structural
Sep 1, 2009
US
As a young engineer, I am having difficulty trying to fully grasp the design concepts required for lateral loads. It seems an entire college course could be devoted to this area of structural design, and the courses I have taken did not cover much of this material.

My questions are regarding the diaphragm design of a one-story building constructed with open web steel joists, joist girders bearing on steel columns, and perimeter CMU walls. Let’s say the building is rectangular with no re-entrant corners or jogs for now. I think I understand the load paths and the function of the boundary elements (chords, collectors). What I’m trying to understand is the elements that comprise the chords and collectors and the proper calculations of the forces acting on these elements.

The perimeter CMU walls have a bond beam at the roof level. The roof deck is welded to the horizontal leg of a continuous angle that bears on the joist top chords, and the angle is welded to steel embed plates (let’s say spaced every 48” o.c. for the sake of discussion) that are attached to the masonry wall at the elevation of the bond beam.

Depending on the direction of loading, a boundary element can act either as a collector or a chord, correct? So basically these elements have to be designed for the controlling force? For this type of construction I have described, would you consider the bond beam the boundary element and the continuous angle to be the connector that transfers the lateral forces from the roof deck? That’s what I am thinking...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you