Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Dimming an LED module intended for 12V nominal 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dubc4

Mechanical
Jun 27, 2013
CA
First let me preface this by stating that I am a mechanical engineer not an electrical engineer. I have some basic knowledge of electronics so hopefully we can communicate in the same language to resolve this :)

I have a 12V LED module (only has two leads for power and gnd) and when I took apart the module it turns out that it has its own programmable controller inside (running at 5V) that uses mosfets inside to flash the LEDs in programmed patterns, but it has no method of dimming the LEDs (it has a bunch of other components for vreg for the controller, current limiting resistors for the LEDs etc). Before taking apart the module I thought perhaps I could PWM the 12V power and dim the LEDs but I no longer see this working as I will likely just be rapidly turning the programmable controller on and off very quickly and messing with the flashing patterns.

So that brings me to this post.

Although the module nominal input is 12V, when I drop the input voltage using my power supply, there is no appreciable difference in perceived brightness down to 9V (current also drops from ~190mA to ~100mA). Below 9V I would estimate a 50% brightness drop when lowering input voltage to ~8.2V (current drops to ~25mA)

So I have some 1n4002 diodes here and I believe on the datasheet it shows a forward voltage drop of 0.6-0.8V with current between 0.03A to 1A. If it put one in series with the LED module and run it at 9V I achieve the ~50% dimming I am looking for (voltage across the LED module should be in the ballpark of the 8.2V I'm assuming). If I used a ~30ohm resister in series instead of the diode I get roughly the same result as I am limiting the current.