Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DIN 2673 versus EN 1092-1 type 04-34

Status
Not open for further replies.

Piline

Industrial
Dec 13, 2021
NL
Dear engineers,
For a couple of years I visited many times your “EngTips” site for a fresh look on piping issues. I am a design engineer on retirement and spent about 35 years in engineering firms and construction sites. Nowadays I spent some times to study subjects related to piping I never had the time for that. Such a subject is the comparison between ASME en EuroNorm flanges (see Flanges comparison).
Flanges_comparison_sm8fdp.jpg

There are four columns for the geometric comparison between ASME and EN. In the 3rd and 4th column are the lap joints and stub ends. The EN has more of these items to choice. Type 02 & 35 consist of ISO and metric design (metric version is not shown in 4th column). Why some many designs in the EN norm? So I asked myself the next question:” if I don't have a pipe spec, which flange would I choice for a good design”?

So, I did study all the facets of flanges and makes a report (in Dutch) of it. My approach has been of a qualitative nature to still get results on the pro & cons in the engineerings phase and operational phase.
This report is 14 pages long and unfortunately is takes to much time for me (now this moment) to translate it.

Some points I will highlight:
-In DIN period (from 1928 to 2007) only the PN10 range of type 04-34 consist,
-After 2001 (harmonization DIN to EuroNorm) PN16 to PN40 are added,
-Some of the dimensions of the welding neck flange are taken over,
-There are no re-calculations made on the new type 04-34.
-There is only one firm in Europe who is manufactured this type (I did sent the report to them and hope on response).